Shiki Team 2019

SHIKI Japanese Fine Dining | Brasserie | Bar in the city center of Vienna offers its guests contemporary authentic Japanese cuisine with European accents and first-class service. Internationally renowned conductor and violinist Joji Hattori is the man behind the project, which began in early 2015.

In March 2018 Chef de Cuisine Alois Traint and his team at SHIKI were awarded the honor of the first Michelin star, which makes SHIKI the first Japanese restaurant with Michelin star rating in Austria and one of the few Japanese haute cuisine restaurants with this award. With the Michelin star, the restaurant refutes prejudices that Japanese cuisine is reduced to sushi, tempura and noodle soups served in a simple barren atmosphere. “We have succeeded in establishing the only restaurant in Europe that presents Japanese cuisine in combination with European fine-dining culture. Awards such as the Michelin Star confirm our mission to confront clichés about the kitchen of my home country.“, says Hattori.

BEST OF BOTH WORLDS

Born in Japan and raised in Austria, Hattori returned to Vienna after about 20 years in London to open a restaurant that links the best of Japanese and European cultures and offers a personal handwritten touch in many ways: the Japanese word “shiki” means both “four seasons” and “conductor.”

Japanese Fine Dining | Brasserie | Bar

A drink and a light snack at the bar, a simple lunch and our famous contemporary sushi in the brasserie, or a multi-course dinner in the restaurant’s fine dining room  – discover contemporary Japanese cuisine as never seen before in Austria. SHIKI uses regional and seasonal ingredients for its innovative interpretation of authentic Japanese methods of preparation and its unique selection of vegan dishes. The comprehensive wine list with emphases on Austrian and French wines completes the perfect dining experience.

Modern Ambience

SHIKI is located in Krugerstraße 3 in the center of Vienna near the Vienna State Opera and is accessible barrier-free.  BEHF Corporate Architects are responsible for the restaurant’s architecture and design.

TEAM

The fusion of the “best of two worlds” is also reflected in our team. SHIKI has set up an Austrian-Japanese team of talented chefs who combine the best knowledge of the domestic market with a passion for Japanese cuisine.

The charming Austrian service culture has been a special concern of Joji Hattori right from the start, in order to best meet the expectations of the local guests – and SHIKI’s many international guests also appreciate that.

According to Hattori “to be able to work with such a creative and highly professional team is a great joy,” according to Joji Hattori, “because regardless of where we were born, we are bound by the vision of further developing this unique restaurant concept on the international level in Vienna. One could say: Not only I, but we all are ‘gastrosophical’ cosmopolitans with Japanese DNA.”

Joji Hattori

JOJI HATTORI, Host and Owner

Joji Hattori was born in Tokyo in 1969 to a well-known entrepreneurial family. At the age of eight, he came to Vienna where he stayed until he graduated secondary school. His musical talent led to an internationally successful career as a violinist and conductor. After nearly 20 years in London, Hattori returned to Vienna in 2011 where he decided to open his own restaurant.

You will find further infos about Joji Hattori on his website: www.jojihattori.com

AloisTraint-300x200Alois Traint,
Chef de Cuisine / Kitchen Director

Already at the opening of SHIKI, Traint as sous chef and right-hand of Takumi Murase, showed his extraordinary talent for Japanese cuisine. Thus, the Lower Austrian native and Viennese-by-choice, who approaches his creations with joy and care, has now also become Chef de Cuisine and Kitchen Director. Before his time at SHIKI he was cooking for Flosz, Vestibül, Schwarzes Kameel, Mörwald at Ambassador and Walter Bauer.

Masahiro YamadaMasahiro Yamada, First Sushi-Master

For sushi lovers, the 37-year-old is already known from the restaurant Unkai at the Grand Hotel Vienna where he was head chef before joining SHIKI. Born in Fukoka on the Japanese island of Kyushu, Yamada worked as a cook in several restaurants for several years after finishing his chef’s training. As the first sushi master at SHIKI, he is responsible for the sushi and sashimi variations.

Hendrik MergellHendrik Mergell, Restaurant Manager

Hendrik Mergell was born in Recklinghausen, Germany and is restaurant director in addition to being managing director. In this role, the 34-year-old works in close collaboration with owner Joji Hattori as well as Thomas Grund and is primarily responsible for the background management and coordination of guest services. Previously he was working as a restaurant manager at Heinz Hanner, restaurant Artner and Kussmaul. “With pleasure” is his his working philosophy.

thomas-grundThomas Grund, Service Manager

The new restaurant and service manager at SHIKI shares his area of responsibility with Hendrik Mergell. The Vienna native learned the ropes at Hotel Sacher with follow-up positions at Restaurant Steirereck, Petermann’s Kunststuben in the Swiss town of Küsnacht and long years of service at Indochine21 and Yohm. At SHIKI, he now leads the service team with great commitment and a keen awareness for the personal touch needed in catering to the guests. What motivates the 43 year-old is “Being able to turn guests into friends.”

いらっしゃいませ ∙ Willkommen ∙ Welcome ∙ Добро Пожаловать ∙ Bienvenido

Managment Shiki 2019
Köche Shiki 2019

Über uns 2017-07-19T09:29:27+00:00
Shiki Team 2016

SHIKI Japanese Fine Dining | Brasserie | Bar in der Wiener Innenstadt bietet seinen Gästen zeitgemäße, authentisch japanische Küche mit europäischen Akzenten und erstklassiger Servicekultur. Hinter dem Anfang 2015 eröffneten Projekt steht der international erfolgreiche Dirigent und Geiger Joji Hattori.

DAS BESTE ZWEIER WELTEN

Geboren in Japan und aufgewachsen in Österreich, kehrte Hattori nach rund 20 Jahren in London nach Wien zurück, um ein Restaurant zu eröffnen, das das Beste aus der japanischen und europäischen Kultur verbindet und in vielen Details seine Handschrift trägt: So bedeutet das japanische Wort shiki neben Vier Jahreszeiten auch Dirigent.

Japanese Fine Dining | Brasserie | Bar

Ein Drink und feine Kleinigkeiten in der Bar, ein unkomplizierter Lunch und unsere berühmten Contemporary Sushi in der Brasserie oder ein mehrgängiges Dinner im Fine Dining-Bereich des Restaurants – entdecken Sie eine Form der zeitgemäßen japanischen Küche, wie es sie in Österreich noch nicht gab: bei weitestgehender Verwendung regionaler und saisonaler Zutaten, einer innovativen Interpretation authentisch japanischer Zubereitungsarten und einer einzigartigen Auswahl an veganen Gerichten. Passend dazu haben Sie die Möglichkeit, aus einer umfangreichen Weinkarte mit Schwerpunkt auf österreichischen und französischen Weinen zu wählen.

SHIKI bietet eine moderne Interpretation der traditionellen japanischen Haute Cuisine, die sich – so wie viele Toprestaurants in Tokio – europäischen Einflüssen nicht verschließt. Ganz analog dazu, wie die europäische Topgastronomie oft asiatische Komponenten einfließen lässt. Vor allem die sündig köstlichen Desserts spannen gekonnt den Bogen zwischen den beiden kulinarischen Welten.

Modernes Ambiente

SHIKI befindet sich in der Krugerstraße 3 mitten in der Wiener Innenstadt nahe der Staatsoper und ist barrierefrei zugänglich. Für Architektur und Design zeichnen BEHF Corporate Architects verantwortlich.

TEAM

Die Fusion des „Besten zweier Welten“ spiegelt sich auch in unserem Team wider. SHIKI hat ein österreichisch-japanisches Team von begabten Haubenköchen aufgebaut, das beste Kenntnisse über den heimischen Markt mit großer Leidenschaft für die japanische Küche vereint.

Die charmante österreichische Service-kultur war Joji Hattori von Anfang an ein besonderes Anliegen, um die Erwartungen der einheimischen Gäste bestens zu erfüllen – und das wissen auch unsere internationalen Gäste zu schätzen.

Joji Hattori

JOJI HATTORI, GASTGEBER UND EIGENTÜMER

Joji Hattori wurde 1969 in Tokio in eine bekannte Unternehmerfamilie geboren. Im Alter von acht Jahren kam er nach Wien, wo er bis zur Matura blieb. Seine musikalische Begabung führte zu einer international erfolgreichen Karriere als Dirigent und Geiger. Nach rund 20 Jahren in London kehrte Hattori 2011 nach Wien zurück, wo er sich entschloss, ein eigenes Restaurant zu eröffnen.

Weitere Informationen zu Joji Hattori: www.jojihattori.com

AloisTraint-300x200Alois Traint,
Chef de Cuisine, Küchendirektor

Bereits zur Eröffnung des SHIKI zeigte Traint als Souschef und rechte Hand von Takumi Murase sein außergewöhnliches Talent für die japanische Küche. So ist der gebürtige Niederösterreicher und Wahlwiener, der mit Freude und Achtsamkeit an seine Kreationen herangeht, nun auch zum Chef de Cuisine und Küchendirektor avanciert. Vor seiner Zeit im SHIKI kochte er für Flosz, Vestibül, Schwarzes Kameel, Mörwald im Ambassador und Walter Bauer.

Gerhard BernhauerGerhard Bernhauer, Chef de Cuisine

Nach Stationen wie Vier Jahreszeiten im Hotel Intercontinental Wien, Chrinor, Novelli und Kulinarium 7 erkochte der gebürtige Wiener in seinem eigenen Restaurant „Bernhauers“ mit der vielfältigen Stilistik seiner Erfahrung bereits eine Gault Millau Haube – und fand gerade deswegen, es sei an der Zeit für eine ganz neue Herausforderung. Gemeinsam mit Alois Traint erarbeitete der 39-Jährige bereits die SHIKI-Herbstkarte 2016.

Masahiro YamadaMasahiro Yamada, Erster Sushimeister

Sushi-Freunden ist der 37-jährige aus dem Restaurant Unkai im Grand Hotel Wien bekannt, wo er zuletzt als Küchenchef tätig war. In Fukoka auf der japanischen Insel Kyushu geboren, arbeitete Yamada nach seiner Ausbildung zehn Jahre als Koch in mehreren Restaurants in Japan, bevor er nach Wien kam und sich intensiv der Vermittlung der Sushi-Kultur widmete. Im SHIKI ist er als erster Sushi-Meister für Zutatenauswahl und Zubereitung aller Sushi- und Sashimi-Variationen verantwortlich.

Hendrik MergellHendrik Mergell, Restaurantleiter, gewerberechtlicher Geschäftsführer

Der im deutschen Recklinghausen gebürtige Hendrik Mergell übernimmt neben der Restaurantleitung nun auch die Position des gewerberechtlichen Geschäftsführers. In dieser Funktion ist der 34-Jährige in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Inhaber Joji Hattori und seinem Restaurantleiter-Kollegen Thomas Grund vor allem für das Management im Hintergrund und die Koordination der Gästebetreuung verantwortlich. Zuvor als Restaurantleiter u.a. bei Heinz Hanner, im Restaurant Artner und im Kussmaul im Einsatz, lässt sich seine Arbeitsphilosophie mit zwei Worten beschreiben: „Sehr gerne.“

thomas-grundThomas Grund, Restaurantleiter

Der neue Restaurant- und Serviceleiter im SHIKI teilt seinen Aufgabenbereich mit Hendrik Mergell. Der gebürtige Wiener lernte sein Metier im Hotel Sacher mit Folgestationen wie Restaurant Steirereck, Petermann’s Kunststuben im Schweizer Küsnacht und langjähriger Tätigkeit im Indochine21 und Yohm. Im SHIKI führt er ab sofort das Service-Team mit Engagement und viel Gespür für die persönliche Note in der Gästebetreuung. Die Motivation des 43-jährigen ist es, „Gäste zu Freunden zu machen.“

いらっしゃいませ ∙ Willkommen ∙ Welcome ∙ Добро Пожаловать ∙ Bienvenido