All homemade

Stocks, pickled products, sauces or ramen – everything that leaves SHIKI’s kitchen is made from scratch in-house. This Michelin star crowned Vienna restaurant is one-of-a-kind when it comes to its wide range of homemade dishes. This includes the noodles for traditional ramen, pickled ginger or mochi (Japanese rice cakes that require a highly complex production process) – all of which are made from premium ingredients by hand.

One of Alois Traint’s extraordinary specialties: pickled seaweed. “Many cooks have a very wasteful approach to the use of seaweed. When they use the product to make a stock, they throw it into the garbage when done,” the Chef de Cuisine tells during a visit to his kitchen. The Japanese, on the other hand, understand eating as a meditative ceremony to be experienced with all of one’s senses. Hence, they have a sense of reverence towards all foods.  At SHIKI, this concept and tradition are therefore observed in the same way as the restaurant follows the recipes and kitchen routines.  Alois Traint explains that there are multiple uses for seaweed.  First, the stock simmers at around  80°C for 40 minutes for the miso soup. After the stock has been passed through a sieve, the seaweed is julienned and served, for instance, as an added textural element in soups. 

The scrumptious Tsukune – poached minced chicken thigh balls – are served with organic game hen or shrimp and egg in the restaurant’s ramen noodle soup and are among the many Japanese specialties that are freshly made in-house.  Starting this fall, SHIKI will begin serving exclusively in-house made tofu in all dishes. 

Chef Alois Traint and his team, staying true to the unaltered naturalness of fresh regional ingredients, also create thrilling desserts with Japanese restraint. Gourmets who love sweets even taste the subtle difference in the ever-so-delicate coconut & pineapple dish. The vegan ice cream made in-house from coconut milk, is served with homemade yoghurt, coconut cubes and pineapple chips. 

While respecting the food is important, it is just as essential to use only the freshest of ingredients – ripe, alive, crisp, juicy. Spices are added not to modify the actual flavor of the ingredients, but to lovingly emphasize the taste. The fresher, the tastier.  Hence, every warm water fish served at the SHIKI, such as char or trout, is sourced directly from controlled bodies of water just outside of Vienna. The poultry comes from organic farmers in the neighborhood. 

At SHIKI, Joji Hattori is turning his vision of an authentic Japanese restaurant with Austrian influences into a real experience. In his eyes, fusion cuisine is not the absence of tradition, but inspiration by another. 

 

shiki-reservieren

Alles hausgemacht

Ob Fond, Eingelegtes, Saucen oder Ramen – nichts verlässt die Küche des SHIKI, das nicht eigens im Haus zubereitet wurde. Das Wiener Sternerestaurant ist einzigartig in seiner Vielfalt an Hausgemachtem. Ob Nudeln für das Traditionsgericht Ramen, eingelegter Ingwer oder Mochi (der in der Herstellung sehr aufwendige japanische Reiskuchen), alles wird mit erlesenen Zutaten und von Hand gefertigt.

Eine besondere Spezialität von Alois Traint ist das Einlegen von Algen. „Algen werden von vielen Köchen sehr verschwenderisch verwendet. Wenn sie einen Fond ansetzen, landen die Algen danach im Müll“, erzählt der Chef de Cuisine bei unserem Besuch in seiner Küche. In ihrer Auffassung vom Essen als meditative Zeremonie, die mit allen Sinnen erfahren wird, schätzen die Japaner jedes Lebensmittel. Die Idee und die Tradition werden im SHIKI daher ebenso gewahrt, wie die Rezepte und Routinen der Küche. Alois Traint erklärt, dass Algen vielfach verwertbar sind. Zuerst wird der Fond 40 Minuten lang bei ca. 80°C für die Miso-Suppe angesetzt. Nach dem Abseihen werden die Algen dann zu Julienne verarbeitet und beispielsweise als Suppeneinlage serviert.

Die köstlichen Tsukune, pochierte Bällchen aus gehackter Hühnerkeule, die zum Bio Wildhendl oder mit Garnelen und Ei in der Ramen-Nudelsuppe gereicht werden, gehören zu den vielen japanischen Spezialitäten, die ebenfalls frisch zubereitet werden. Ab Herbst wird für alle Gerichte auch nur mehr hausgemachter Tofu verwendet.

Aus der unveränderten Natürlichkeit frischer Lebensmittel aus der Region kreieren Küchenchef Alois Traint und sein Team mit japanischer Zurückhaltung auch aufregende Desserts. Süße Feinschmecker erkennen so im delikaten Kokos & Ananas Gericht den feinen Unterschied. Das vegane, im Haus aus Kokosmilch hergestellte Eis wird mit selbstgemachtem Joghurt serviert und mit Kokoswürfeln und Ananas-Chips gereicht.

Neben der Wertschätzung von Lebensmitteln ist es ebenso essenziell, nur die frischesten Zutaten zu verwenden – reif, lebendig, knackig, saftig. Gewürze sollen den Eigengeschmack der Lebensmittel nicht verändern, sondern liebevoll unterstreichen. Je frischer, desto geschmackvoller. Jeder Süßwasserfisch, der im SHIKI serviert wird, wie Saibling oder Forelle – kommt daher aus kontrollierten Gewässern direkt vor Wien. Das Hühnerfleisch stammt von den nächstgelegenen Bio-Bauern.

Joji Hattori verwirklicht im SHIKI seine Vision eines authentischen japanischen Restaurants mit österreichischen Einflüssen. Fusionsküche ist für ihn nicht die Abwesenheit von Tradition, sondern die Inspiration durch eine weitere.

shiki-reservieren
2018-10-03T10:53:19+00:00